The Grooves of His Skin

Saturday, May 4th, 2013

The longer you know someone, the more you begin to realize some very intricate details about them. Why is this exactly? Well, if you would ask me, I would say that you’re too used to each other, and you find yourself looking for something new. Every second I spend in his presence, I recognize the things I already know. I know that his toes are very boney, and his legs are particularly skinny. His shoulders fill out his body with their muscle, bringing me shelter and comfort. I could trace my fingers along his body completely blind, and I would comprehend every direction, every feature, probably even better than I can my own. He is the other half of myself and I know him in ways I cannot describe, but you see, it comes to this point that I know him so well, it’s almost too well. I need to find something new, and if you look hard enough, you can almost always find something you have never seen before. Lately, I find myself study the direction that his hair grows. I look at the pores of his face, to evaluate where he would have acne if he had hormones like I do. I could imagine that sounds rather strange, but I could also say that our relationship is very different, at least I’ve been told. Now imagine this: each of us have the individual pattern of our skin. Each are different, there is not one person with that same print. That is the one thing that is particularly special to him. I believe that if I took the time to study this hard enough, I would have created the strongest connection with him that I ever could find. I can match the love that radiates between each grove of my finger print, as I trace it along each familiar part, finding love in each of his. We were specially made, this is a fact, but not everyone seems to realize that we were specially made for each other.

Leave a comment